Bike to Work Week: Thursday

These are the things I have come to expect from my daily biked commute:

  • A wet bike. No matter the weather the night before, my bike is always wet in the morning. Am I being pranked? The other bikes don’t seem wet.
  • A damp helmet. Not fully dried from the day before. Perhaps need to invest in other helmets if I don’t want to continue with these soggy starts.
  • Almost getting killed six times.
  • A daunting morning climb up the hill at Old Sauk, usually while being casually passed by some dorky 80-year-old dude in a yellow vest and bulging calves.
  • Self-consciousness about how I look in my helmet.
  • The pungent smell of decay from UW’s poorly maintained grain silos. Though it doesn’t smell like grain. Maybe they’re ham silos?
  • Awkward head nods to bikers coming in the opposite direction, silently acknowledging our ethical commuting choice or inability to afford gas.
  • Incomplete contemplation of the mundane. This morning: Whatever happened to the cherry they used to put in canned fruit cups? This afternoon: Is our go-to-market strategy based on a fundamental misunderstanding of our customers’ purchasing affiliations?
  • Student pedestrians: Dumbasses, all.
  • Student moped operators: Dumbasses, all.
  • Sweat. A lot.
  • The guy and his Airedale.
  • The repeated dilemma to stop at red lights and stop signs, or to embrace the biker outlaw spirit and fringe status by blowing right through.
  • The finger.
3 Comments

  1. Move to Lismore! I bike it to my studio every morning, no cars, single track road, no traffic lights…just sheep, pigs, cows, amazing views and OK lots of rain quite a lot of the time. Having cycled in London for many years I still can’t quite get over the wonder of it!
    You can read all about it on my blog.
    Thanks for the great insight into your thoughts.

    x Sarah

  2. What’s a Lismore?

    Must be in Minnesota.

    Expect more great insight like that.

  3. Hmmm.
    I think maybe you havn’t read my blog yet.
    Lismore is a very small island in the north of Scotland. UK
    Recommended in every way.
    I don’t blame you for not knowing where it is though.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

